User login


2017 Scholarship Winners

Milford Rotary Club

Rotary International is an organization of business and professional people united worldwide, who provide humanitarian service, encourage high ethical standards in all vocations, and help build goodwill and peace in the world. In 1925, business and professional people of Milford, Delaware formed the Milford Rotary Club as a part of Rotary International. The club has assisted in many areas of service including supporting the Milford School District Music, Science, Mathematics Programs, joining Rotary International in helping eradicate Polio throughout the world, assisting with community projects, enhancing community awareness and, starting in 2002, with its scholarship program.

Scholarship Award

The Milford Rotary Club Educational Foundation will award four separate scholarships for the academic year and will present them to the recipients at a Milford Rotary Club meeting. Three will be $2,000 Traditional scholarships awarded on the criteria of the student’s leadership, character and citizenship as well as academic achievement. The fourth, a $2,000 Joseph Warnell scholarship award will include the requirement that the student is planning a career in science or mathematics. The renewable $1,500 Garbutt Family Trust scholarship is offered new on alternate years and is not available this year.


1. The applicant must reside within the service area of the Milford Rotary Club, as established by Rotary District 7630. This service area includes all of the Milford School District. Applicants do not have to attend Milford High School. They may attend any school or be home schooled, but must reside within the area.

2. Children of members of the Milford Rotary Club are not eligible.

3. Additional criteria for the Joseph Warnell scholarship only: The applicant must be planning a career in science or mathematics.

Scholarship Application Procedures

Any eligible student may apply. To be considered by the Trustees, the following items must be submitted by each applicant:

1. A completed application form. (note, if you are applying for more than one scholarship, only one application form is needed.)

2. A transcript of the student's academic record.

3. A letter of recommendation from a faculty member, community leader, religious leader, employer, or person knowledgeable of the applicant's attributes, which cites illustrations of the student's character, leadership and citizenship.

4. An essay on the following topic:
“Describe how you would incorporate one or more of the ideals of the ‘Four Way Test’ in your future endeavors.” (maximum one-page essay)

One of the most widely printed and quoted statements of business ethics in the world is the Rotary “Four Way Test”. It was created by Rotarian Herbert J. Taylor in 1932 when he was asked to take charge of the Chicago based Club Aluminum Company, which was facing bankruptcy. Taylor looked for a way to save the struggling company mired in depression-caused financial difficulties. He drew up a 24-word code of ethics for all employees to follow in their business and professional lives. The Four-Way Test became the guide for sales, production, advertising and all relations with dealers and customers, and the survival of the company was credited to this simple philosophy.

The Four-Way Test was adopted by Rotary in 1943 and has been translated into more than 100 languages and published in thousands of ways. The message is known and followed by all Rotarians. “Of the things we think, say or do:
• Is it the truth?
• Is it fair to all concerned?
• Will it build goodwill and better friendships?
• Will it be beneficial to all concerned?”

Application Date:

A completed application packet must be received by the Milford Rotary Club Educational Foundation by April 20, 2016 to be eligible.

Please fill out the applications, listed below and send to:

Milford Rotary Club Educational Foundation
P.O. Box 10
Milford, De 19963

Milford Rotary Club Educational Foundation
Past Scholarship Awardees

2002 – Kelly L. Simon, Milford High School

2003 – Megan Pastor, Milford High School

2004 – Sara Pletcher, Milford High School
- Andrew D. Harp, Sussex Technical High School

2005 – Julee P. Farley, Milford High School
- Stephen T. Masten, Jr., Milford High School

2006 – Andrew Meade, Milford High School
- Matthew B. Starkey, Milford High School

2007 – James E. Bell, Milford High School
- Kathryn E. Indelicato, Milford High School

2008 – Garrett Jenkins, Milford High School (Traditional)
- William Gorney, Milford High School (Warnell)

2009 – Rebecca Godwin, Milford High School (Traditional)
- Hope Renee Gorney, Milford High School (Warnell)

2010 – Alexandra Butterly, Cape Henlopen High School (Traditional)
- Dylan L. Fox, Sussex Technical High School (Warnell)

2011 – Quinn Abbott, Milford High School (Traditional)
- Kristin Gagné, Milford High School (Warnell)
- Rebecca Russell, Milford High School (Garbutt)
- Nolan Katz, Delaware Technical and Community College (Garbutt-Del Tech)

2012 – Lauren Mentzer, Milford High School, (Traditional)
- Paige Thomas, Milford High School, (Warnell)
- Rebecca Russell, Milford High School (Garbutt) – renewal

2013 – Alexis Nichole Groce, Milford High School, (Traditional)
- Katie Rose Zang, Milford High School, (Warnell)
- Bree Lynn Wilkins, Milford High School, (Garbutt)
- Rebecca Russell, Milford High School, (Garbutt) - renewal

2014- Taylor Hoey, Milford High School, (Traditional)
- Alison VanVorst, Milford High School, (Warnell)
- Andrew Eshelman, Milford High School, (Masten)
- Bree Lynn Wilkins, Milford High School, (Garbutt) – renewal
- Rebecca Russell, Milford High School, (Garbutt) – renewal

2015 – Nicholas Sobota, Milford High School, (Traditional)
- Tyler Christina Allen, St. Thomas More High School, (Traditional)
- Kayla Brennan, Milford High School, (Traditional)
- Hannah Uebele, Milford High School, (Traditional)
- Amanda Kucharzyk, Sussex Technical High School, (Garbutt)
- Bree Lynn Wilkins, Milford High School, (Garbutt)

2016 -Alexa Gorman, Milford High School (Traditional)
-Molly Fulton, Milford High School, (Traditional)
-Sara Lingo, Milford High School (Traditional)
-Emily Lee, Sussex Technical High School, (Warnell)

2017 – Deja Rodriquez-Santiago, Milford High School, (Traditional)
James Kucharzyk, Milford High School, (Traditional)
Hayden Shockley, Milford High School, (Traditional)
Kathryn E. Simpson, Lake Forest High School, (Warnell)
Daniel Zang, Milford High School, (Garbutt)
Amanda Kucharzyk, Sussex Technical High School, (Garbutt) - renewal